Fellows elected to Academy of Medical Sciences 2022

Congratulations to three Centre members elected to the Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Professor Fiona Gilbert, Dr John Marioni and Professor Anna Philpott are among 60 outstanding biomedical and health scientists the Academy of Medical Sciences has elected to its influential Fellowship. They join eight scientists from the University of Cambridge who have been elected as Fellows this year.

The new Fellows have been recognised for their remarkable contributions to biomedical and health science and their ability to generate new knowledge and improve the health of people everywhere.

Professor Fiona Gilbert is Head of the Department of Radiology at the University of Cambridge, an honorary consultant at CUH, and a member of our Precision Breast Cancer Institute. She is an academic radiologist who undertakes assessment of new imaging techniques to improve patient outcomes. As a breast radiologist she is evaluating risk-based screening and impact of Artificial Intelligence and novel functional imaging in cancer.

She said: “I’d like to thank the Academy of Medical Sciences for this honour and for also recognising the contribution of my Cambridge colleagues, who have also been appointed as new fellows.

“Our work here on the Cambridge biomedical campus brings together clinical teams, research and patients, enabling pioneering working in so many fields of medicine and life science.”

Dr John Marioni is a Group Leader at the CRUK Cambridge Institute and Wellcome Sanger Institute, Head of Research at the EMBL European Bioinformatics Institute, and a member of our Centre.
His research group develops computational and statistical tools to better understand the regulation of gene expression and to model developmental and evolutionary processes. He is heavily involved in the scientific organisation and governance of the Human Cell Atlas (HCA) project.

Professor Anna Philpott is a Group Leader at the Cambridge Stem Cell Institute, Head of the Department of Biology and a member of our Paediatric Cancer Programme.
Her research group studies the balance between proliferation and differentiation during development and cancer, using a range of models including mammalian cells and embryos of the frog Xenopus laevis.

Professor Dame Anne Johnson PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences said: “It gives me great pleasure to welcome these 60 experts to the Fellowship to help to address the major health challenges facing society.

“Each of the new Fellows has made important contributions to the health of our society, with a breadth of expertise ranging from the physical and mental health of young people to parasitic diseases and computational biology.

“The diversity of biomedical and health expertise within our Fellowship is a formidable asset that in the past year has informed our work on critical issues such as tackling the COVID-19 pandemic, understanding the health impacts of climate change, addressing health inequalities, and making the case for funding science. The new Fellows of 2022 will be critical to helping us deliver our ambitious 10-year strategy that we will launch later this year.”

The Academy of Medical Sciences is the independent body in the UK representing the diversity of medical science.

Elected Fellows are the UK’s leading medical scientists from hospitals, academia, industry and the public service.

The election brings the total number of fellows to 1414. 

A full list of new Fellows can be found here.

11 May 2022