Lectures in Cancer Biology and Medicine

Dr Paul Edwards
Lectures in Cancer Biology and Medicine series
Lectures in Cancer Biology and Medicine series

 The talks aim to give a general introduction to cancer biology and medicine and all students and staff are welcome to attend.

The lectures will take place every Thursday from 9.30-10.30.   PLEASE NOTE   for the time being the  lectures will be online only- links will be posted close to the date of each lecture.  Please see the series listing on the talks.cam website Where agreed the lectures will be recorded- access to the recordings if requested, will be restricted to registered students of the university only. 

 For more information and to receive notifications and updates related to the lecture series, register here: : https://talks.cam.ac.uk/show/index/8177

 Lectures in Cancer Biology and Medicine - Easter Term 2021

Thursday 15 April:  Dr Robert Rintoul, Royal Papworth Hospital NHS Foundation Trust and Dr Frank  McCaughan Dept of Biochemistry
Lung Cancer. Part 1. Patient pathway and Intervention;  Part 2: Futurescape
 
Thursday 22 April: Professor Paul Pharoah, Centre for Cancer Genetic Epidemiology. 
This lecture has been pre-recorded as Prof Pharoah is no longer able to deliver it at the scheduled time. Please access it via this link: Epidemiology of Ovarian Cancer
 
Thursday 29th April:  Dr Jason Carroll, CRUK Cambridge Institute
The role of transcription factors in cancer. 
 
Thursday 6th May: Dr Namshik Han, Head of Computational Biology, Milner Therapeutics Institute
Artificial Intelligence for identifying novel therapeutic targets, biomarkers and drug repositioning opportunities.

Thursday 13th May: Prof Grant Stewart,  Dept of Surgery, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Kidney cancer: The most lethal urological malignancy. NB this lecture will not be recorded.
 
Thursday 20th May: Dr Suzanne Turner, Dept of Pathology, Cambridge University
Frontiers in paediatric cancer research
 
Thursday 27th May: Dr Thankamma Ajithkumar, Consultant Clinical Oncologist, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
The promise of proton therapy in Paediatric tumours 
 
Thursday 3rd June: Dr James Brenton, CRUK Cambridge Institute
Biological and Clinical features of high grade serous ovarian cancer

Thursday 10th June: Dr Cathy Wilson, Dept of Pharmacology.
Understanding Myc Transcriptioniagnostics and patient pathways in pancreatic cancer 

Thursday 17th June: Mr Raaj Praseedom, Consultant HepatoPancreatoBiliary & Transplant Surgeon at Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 
Diagnostics and patient pathways in pancreatic cancer 

Thursday 24th June Dr Giulia Biffi , CRUK Cambridge Institute 
Pancreatic Cancer: Challenges, Models and Therapeutic Opportunities
 

Previous Lectures

 Michaelmas Term 2020

Thursday 22 October: Dr Paul Edwards, Emeritus Reader in Cancer Biology
Tumour structure and nomenclature  

Thursday 29 October: Dr Paul Edwards, Emeritus Reader in Cancer Biology
Overview of the core ideas in cancer research

Thursday 5 November: Dr Paul Edwards, Emeritus Reader in Cancer Biology 
 
Thursday 12 November: Dr Sakari Vanharanta, MRC Cancer Unit
Introduction to the biology of metastasis  
 
Thursday 19 November: Dr Christian Frezza, MRC Cancer Unit 
Cancer metabolism, a hallmark of cancer. 

Thursday 26 November 9:30am: Professor Steve Jackson, The Gurdon Institute  
DNA repair: translating mechanistic insights towards new cancer therapies. 

Thursday 3 December 9:30am: Professor Brian Huntly, Department of Haematology:  
Cancer stem cells, evolution and heterogeneity.
 
Thursday 10 December 9:30am: Dr Jacqui Shields, MRC Cancer Unit
Exploring the role of the tumour microenvironment: what do the other cells do? 

Thursday 17 December 10:00am: Dr Gary Doherty, CUH NHS Foundation Trust  NOTE later start time
Systematic anti-cancer therapy 

Lent Term 2021
Thursday 7 JanuaryDr Simón Méndez-Ferrer, Dept of Haematology. 
The bone marrow microenvironment in myeloid malignancies.

Thursday 14 January: Dr Christine Parkinson, Dept of Oncology, CUH NHS Foundation Trust 
Cancer Immunotherapy

Thursday 21 January: Dr Raj Jena, Dept of Oncology & Mr Adel Helmy, Dept of Clinical Neuroscience, CUH NHS Foundation Trust
A scientist’s guide to the art of radiation therapy & Neurosurgery for the Oncologist
 
Thursday 28 January  Dr Harry Bulstrode, Neurosurgeon, Dept of Clinical Neuroscience, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Clinical Treatment and Cancer Stem Cell Biology in Malignant Glioma 

Thursday 4 February: no lecture
 
Thursday 11 February: Dr Barry Davies, Director, Clinical and Translational Scientific Alliances, AstraZeneca.
The AKT inhibitor Capivasertib (AZD5363): from discovery to clinical proof of concept
 
Thursday 18 February: Dr Simon Cook, Babraham Institute 
The Challenges in Therapeutic Targeting of the RAF-MEK-ERK Signalling Pathway

Thursday 25 February: Prof Ferdia Gallagher, Department of Radiology, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust : Oncological imaging: introduction and non-radionuclide techniques  and  Dr Luigi Aloj, Department of Nuclear Medicine, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust: Oncological Imaging: radionuclide techniques
 
Thursday 4 March: Dr Jamie Blundell, Early Detection Programme, Dept of Oncology 
Mathematical and evolutionary approaches to cancer 
 
Thursday 11 March: Dr Charlie Massie, Dept of Oncology & Mr Harveer Dev, Clinical Lecturer  Early Detection Programme
Early detection and treatment of lethal prostate cancer.

Thursday 18 March: Dr Amos Burke, Clinical Consultant - Department of Paediatric Haematology, Oncology and Palliative Care, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. Paediatric malignancies: an overview. 

Thursday 25 MarchDr Richard Baird, Breast Cancer Programme, 
Breast Cancer - Demographics, Presentation, Diagnosis and the Patient Pathway