Lectures in Cancer Biology and Medicine

Dr Paul Edwards
Lectures in Cancer Biology and Medicine series
Lectures in Cancer Biology and Medicine series

 These talks aim to give a general introduction to cancer biology and medicine and all students and staff are welcome to attend. The lectures will take place every Thursday from 9.30-10.30

Update 12th Jan 2022: for the time being we are reverting to online lectures  and suspending  the in-person lectures in the School of Clinical  Medicine- see below for individual links when posted.

Lent Term 2022

Thursday 6 January 9:30amDr Raj Jena, Dept of Oncology & Mr Adel Helmy, Dept of Clinical Neuroscience, CUH NHS Foundation Trust
A scientist’s guide to the art of radiation therapy & Neurosurgery for the Oncologist

Thursday 13 January 9:30am: Prof John Doorbar, Dept of Pathology 
Viral Oncology
 
Thursday 20 January 9:30am: Dr Jamie Blundell, Early Detection Programme, Dept of Oncology 
Mathematical and evolutionary approaches to cancer 

Thursday 27 January 9:30am: Dr Harry Bulstrode, Neurosurgeon and Post Doctoral Clinical Fellow at The Francis Crick Institute 
Clinical Treatment and Cancer Stem Cell Biology in Malignant Glioma 
ONLINE-  Join Zoom Meeting:
Meeting ID: 817 3431 3935
Passcode: 388933

Thursday 3 February:  Dr Barry Davies, Global Project Leader, Oncology Combinations, Early Oncology, AstraZeneca.
The AKT inhibitor Capivasertib (AZD5363): from discovery to clinical proof of concept

Thursday 10 February: No lecture 

Thursday 17 February: Dr Simon Cook, Babraham Institute 
The Challenges in Therapeutic Targeting of the RAF-MEK-ERK Signalling Pathway

Thursday 24 February: Dr Namshik Han, Head of Computational Biology, Milner Therapeutics Institute
Artificial Intelligence for identifying novel therapeutic targets, biomarkers and drug repositioning opportunities.
 
Thursday 3 March: to be confirmed
 
Thursday 10 March: to be confirmed.
 
Thursday 17 March: Dr Simón Méndez-Ferrer, Dept of Haematology. 
 The bone marrow microenvironment in myeloid malignancies.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

 To be updated

please find below  details of the previous lectures  in this series which were presented in  the last 12 months  

Michaelmas Term 2021

Thursday 21 October 9:30amDr Paul Edwards, Emeritus Reader in Cancer Biology
Tumour structure and nomenclature  

Thursday 28 October 9:30am: Dr Paul Edwards, Emeritus Reader in Cancer Biology
Overview of the core ideas in cancer research

Thursday 4 November 9:30am: Dr Paul Edwards, Emeritus Reader in Cancer Biology 
The mutations that drive cancer
 
Thursday 11 November 9:30amDr Sakari Vanharanta, MRC Cancer Unit
Introduction to the biology of metastasis  
 
Thursday 18 November 9:30amDr Gary Doherty, CUH NHS Foundation Trust  
Systematic anti-cancer therapy 

Thursday 25 November 9:30amProfessor Steve Jackson, The Gurdon Institute 
DNA repair: translating mechanistic insights towards new cancer therapies. 

Thursday 2 December 9:30amSPECIAL GUEST SPEAKER: Professor Jacob Stegenga,  Department of History and Philosophy of Science: Care and Cure:an Introduction to  Philosophy of Medicine

Thursday 9 December 9:30amProfessor Brian Huntly, Department of Haematology:  
 Cancer stem cells, evolution and heterogeneity

Thursday 16 December 9:30am: Prof Ferdia Gallagher, Department of Radiology, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust  
Oncological imaging 1: introduction and non-radionuclide techniques 
 and  Dr Luigi Aloj, Department of Nuclear Medicine, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust: 
Oncological Imaging 2: radionuclide techniques
 
2021
 Thursday 18 March: Dr Amos Burke, Clinical Consultant - Department of Paediatric Haematology, Oncology and Palliative Care, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. Paediatric malignancies: an overview. 
Thursday 25 MarchDr Richard Baird, Breast Cancer Programme, 
Breast Cancer - Demographics, Presentation, Diagnosis and the Patient Pathway

 Easter Term 2021

Thursday 15 April:  Dr Robert Rintoul, Royal Papworth Hospital NHS Foundation Trust and Dr Frank  McCaughan Dept of Biochemistry
Lung Cancer. Part 1. Patient pathway and Intervention;  Part 2: Futurescape
 
Thursday 22 April: Professor Paul Pharoah, Centre for Cancer Genetic Epidemiology. 
This lecture has been pre-recorded as Prof Pharoah is no longer able to deliver it at the scheduled time. Please access it via this link: Epidemiology of Ovarian Cancer
 
Thursday 29th April:  Dr Jason Carroll, CRUK Cambridge Institute
The role of transcription factors in cancer. 
 

Thursday 13th May: Prof Grant Stewart,  Dept of Surgery, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Kidney cancer: The most lethal urological malignancy. NB this lecture was not recorded.
 
Thursday 20th May: Dr Suzanne Turner, Dept of Pathology, Cambridge University
Frontiers in paediatric cancer research. 
  
Thursday 27th May: Dr Thankamma Ajithkumar, Consultant Clinical Oncologist, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
The promise of proton therapy in Paediatric tumours.  

Thursday 3rd June: Dr James Brenton, CRUK Cambridge Institute
Biological and Clinical features of high grade serous ovarian cancer
 
Thursday 10th June: Dr Cathy Wilson, Dept of Pharmacology.
Understanding Myc Transcription  

Thursday 17th June: Mr Raaj Praseedom, consultant & transplant surgeon at Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 
Diagnostics and patient pathways in pancreatic cancer 

Thursday 24th June Dr Giulia Biffi , CRUK Cambridge Institute  
It takes a village: targeting the non-cancerous neighbours to fight pancreatic cancer 
 
Thursday 1st July: Dr Eric Rahrmann, CRUK Cambridge Institute 
In vivo functional screens for modelling cancer initiation and progression 
 
No lecture 8th July

Thursday 15th July: Dr Ignacia Arteaga, Dept of Social Anthropology 
From another lens: An anthropological perspective on cancer and care in the UK.
 
Thursday 22nd July: Prof John Doorbar, Dept of Pathology 
Viral Oncology