Our organisation

The core partners of the CRUK Cambridge Centre are Cancer Research UK, the University of Cambridge and Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. Representatives from these three organisations form the Governance Board of the Cambridge Cancer Centre. They are responsible for the overall strategic planning for the Centre, and meet three times a year.
The CRUK Cambridge Centre is run by an Executive Committee, who determine the strategy and budget allocations for the Centre. The committee is composed of representatives from each of the 12 research programmes and 10 Associate Directors. The day-to-day operations of the Centre are carried out by a small management team based in the Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute, located near Addenbrooke’s Hospital. 
Funding innovative cancer science
The CRUK Cambridge Centre is funded by Cancer Research UK, the University of Cambridge, the Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and the Medical Research Council. Many of our research projects are also enabled by grants from other providers, which are acknowledged in the Research pages. The Centre also accepts commercial and individual donations to further our research into cancer science and to speed up the application of new discoveries into clinical practice.
CRUK Cambridge Centre management team
Richard Gilbertson, Director
Ken Seamon, Associate Director for Scientific Development and Global Collaborations
Simon Oberst, Associate Director for NHS relations and outreach
John Wells, Associate Director for Administration
Katie Edwards, Communications Manager
Kelly O'Reilly, Research Administrator
Helene Dowding, CRUK Research Engagement Manager
Jean Mullin, CRUK Senior Research Nurse
Governance Board
Patrick Maxwell, Regius Professor of Physic, University of Cambridge
Roland Sinker, Chief Executive Officer, CUHNHSFT 
David Scott, Director of Reserach Funding, Cancer Research UK
Richard Gilbertson, Director, Cambridge Cancer Centre
John Wells, Associate Director for Administration, CRUK Cambridge Centre (Secretary)
Executive Committee
Richard Gilbertson, Director, CRUK Cambridge Centre (Chair)
Robert Rintoul, Thoracic Services (Aerodigestive cancers programme lead)
Simon Buczacki, CRUK Cambridge Institute (Aerodigestive cancers programme lead)
Carlos Caldas, CRUK Cambridge Institute (Breast cancer programme lead)
Helena Earl, Dept of Oncology (Breast cancer programme lead)
Kevin Brindle, CRUK Cambridge Institute (Cancer imaging programme lead)
Ferdia Gallagher, Dept of Radiology (Cancer imaging programme lead)
Gerard Evan, Dept of Biochemistry (Cellular and molecular biology programme lead)
Steve Jackson, Gurdon Institute (Cellular and molecular biology programme lead)
Rebecca Fitzgerald, MRC Cancer Unit (Early detection programme lead)
Sarah Bohndiek, Dept of Physics (Early detection programme lead)
Tony Green, Dept of Haematology (Haematological cancers programme lead)
Brian Huntly, Dept of Haematology (Haematological cancers programme lead)
Stephen Price, Dept of Clinical Neurosciences (Neuro-oncology programme lead)
David Rowitch, Cambridge Stem Cell Institute (Neuro-oncology programme lead)
James Brenton, CRUK Cambridge Institute (Ovarian cancer programme lead)
Paul Pharoah, Dept Public Health and Primary Care (Ovarian cancer programme lead)
James Nicholson, Paediatric Onc and Haem (Paediatric cancers programme lead)
Suzanne Turner, Dept of Pathology (Paediatric cancers programme lead)
Duncan Jodrell, CRUK Cambridge Institute (Pancreatic cancer programme lead)
Ashok Venkitaraman, MRC Cancer Unit (Pancreatic cancer programme lead)
Eammon Maher, Dept of Medical Genetics (Urological cancers programme lead)
Vincent Gnanapragasam, Dept of Surgery (Urological cancers programme lead)
Tony Kouzarides, Gurdon Institute (Onco-innovation programme lead)
Susan Galbraith, AstraZeneca (Onco-innovation programme lead)
John Wells, CRUK Cambridge Institute (Associate Director for Administration)
Simon Tavaré, CRUK Cambridge Institute (Associate Director for Biostatistics and Bioinformatics)
Edwin Chilvers, Dept of Medicine (Associate Director for Clinical Education and Training)
Hugo Ford (Associate Director for Clinical Research)
Doug Easton (Associate Director for Epidemiology and Public Health)
Julia Wilson, WT Sanger Institute (Associate Director for Genetics and Genomics)
Ken Seamon, CRUK Cambridge  Centre (Associate Director for Scientific Development and Global Collaborations)
Simon Oberst, CRUK Cambridge Centre (Associate Director for NHS relations and outreach)
Anna Philpott, MRC Cancer Unit (Associate Director for Laboratory Education and Training)
Greg Hannon, CRUK Cambridge Institute (Director of CRUK Cambridge Institute)
Scientific Advisory Board
We have a Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) whose role is to offer advice and guidance on our research themes and programmes. The composition of the board has been carefully considered to represent not only academic, translational and clinical research but also industry and bioscience innovation. 
Peter Jones (Chair), Research Director & Chief Scientific Officer, Van Andel Research Institute, Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Lori Friedman, Senior Director, Translational Oncology, Genentech Inc, San Francisco, USA 
Adrian Harris, The Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine, Oxford 
Kristian Helin, Director, BRIC - Biotech Research & Innovation Centre, University of Copenhagen
Jill Mesirov, Associate Director & Chief Informatics Officer Director, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard
Tim Rink, former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Aurora Biosciences Corporation, and board member of a number of biotechnology companies
Josep Tabernero, Director of Vall d’Hebron Institute of Oncology (VHIO) and Head of the Medical Oncology Department Vall d’Hebron University Hospital, Barcelona